A Vegan Easter and a Juicy New Start to Spring

by brookiegriffin

spinach, kale, celery, romain, apple, lemon juice

spinach, kale, celery, romain, apple, lemon juice

Since cutting all animal products out of my diet, I have been awakened to a whole new world of food. I’m a foodie for sure, and I love to bake and make dinner for friends. So naturally, I’ve explored the Vegan world of cooking from scratch (you should always cook from scratch, there’s nothing better) and I have eaten some of the best foods of my life. Homemade oatmeal cream pies, cauliflower cheese casserole, veggie pizzas, stuffed mushrooms, red velvet cupcakes….smorgasbord, orgasbord!…I’m channelling Templeton the rat from Charlotte’s Web when he’s eats all the left over fair food after the people leave. Do you know what I’m talking about?

I could go on and on but that is where the problem lies. I have gone a little overboard and now it’s time for a restart. My efforts of running several miles per week and the multitude of spin and yoga classes cannot keep up with my wonderful curiosity to try everything vegan. Now please don’t misunderstand, I’m in the best shape of my life! I never could run the mile in highschool, I used to dread it, walking  the whole thing with the other chubby girls finishing in an impressive 16 minutes. Now I can run 5 in less than an hour or 1 in about 9 minutes and I do something active almost everyday. My heart rate is down to 52bpm (an athlete level for a woman) and I can see my top two abs!…well. almost. But I have a track record of ruining all the hard work I put in and I need to to learn to do things in moderation. So. I am doing a 20 day juice/raw food restart. mostly juices, mostly green, and a smoothie and protein shake added in. From my research and what my body is telling me, I think it’s best to not just live on juice alone, especially for such a period of time, but to add in an artichoke for dinner or a few pistachios for a snack. This is not so much to cleanse (well a little bit to cleanse the easter jelly beans out) but more to reteach myself to take smaller portions. I don’t need to eat everything everyday. So here we go on day one and I am going to try and share as much as I can with you every once in a while. Today I had my lovely green juice and as I write this, I’m enjoying my current favorite, cantaloupe, ginger, carrot juice. I need to head to Trader Joe’s in a bit to pick up more veggies and I’ve got my cashew milk all ready to go! I’m definitely going to look up what I can do with this cashew pulp. I’ve added a little honey and vanilla so I think it’ll have to be a raw frosting or butter.

So far, it’s past 3pm and I’m feeling fine. A bit hungry but I’m a little behind on my juices right now. I’m sure by tomorrow I’ll be feeling the detox symptoms if I’m to have them. But they say that ginger is good for headaches so hopefully my juice will help me through. I’ll make another post with my recipes if anyone is interested. And just to reminice and say farewell to most foods for a while, here is what I did for Easter this Sunday…

There are a good selection of vegan restaurants but not so much vegan brunch buffets here in LA. I wish this would change. Brunch buffets are one of my favorite things in the whole world! Anyhow, I had to make my own…

mimosas with fresh pressed cantaloupe and orange juices

mimosas with fresh pressed cantaloupe and orange juices

He enjoyed it very much!

He enjoyed it very much!

stuffed french toast, sauteed rosemary purple and white potatoes and vegan benedict

stuffed french toast, sauteed rosemary purple and white potatoes and vegan benedict

family photo, Me, Brisby, Chase and Gideonfamily photo, Me, Brisby, Chase and Gideon

vegan benedict with thyme sauteed spinach, tomato, avocado, and hollandaise

vegan benedict with thyme sauteed spinach, tomato, avocado, and hollandaise

cream cheese stuffed french toast

cream cheese stuffed french toast

A vegan kitchen is a happy kitchen

A vegan kitchen is a happy kitchen

